On Saturday, 17 March 2018, WESSA hosted the annual Eco-Schools Awards Ceremony to celebrate the wonderful achievements of the participating schools. The Eco-schools Programme is an international programme of the Foundation of Environmental Education (FEE) and is active in 58 countries around the world. Through the programme, learners are engaged in the classroom and through hands-on experiences with tackling environmental issues. This approach aims to promote environmental awareness and sustainability within schools and communities.

The Awards Ceremony took place at the Kristo Pienaar Environmental Education Centre, Tygerberg Nature Reserve. Guests were introduced to the reserve by CTEET Intern, Lauren Conradie. Following the introduction, Lauren took attendees on a lovely Interpretive Nature Walk past a number of rehabilitation sites, to showcase the conservation efforts thus far achieved by the reserve.

Following on from the walk Mr Haroon Mohamed, from the Western Cape Education Department, gave an informative presentation on the WCED’s appreciation of the Eco-Schools Programme.

During the awards, teachers and learners were acknowledged for the work they have done in implementing the programme in their schools, and making it the success it has become. CTEET supports 49 Eco-Schools, assisting eco-clubs and teachers, and is very proud of the progress our schools have made. Schools have started indigenous gardens, grey-water systems and recycling projects. Well done to all the schools, teachers, and learners for being conservation champions!